Picture of The Adventurous Summer

The Adventurous Summer

Published August 2021. Complete and unabridged.

Sorrel and Nicholas Richmond have always lived in London until they go to stay with their aunt and uncle in Wyndstane-by-the-Water in the Cotswolds, where they meet Caroline who lives at the Court. Caroline longs for school but has a strict governess, employed by her grandfather. She is always in trouble but cheers herself up by forming an Adventure Club which Sorrel and Nick join, as do Tony, Bill and Shandy. The club’s wanderings take them to a ruined manor house on Cloud Ridge, to the Mound on Windlip Hill and as far as Stratford-on-Avon.

Mia Jha has written the introduction to this, and we are also including a short story, ‘Silver Rose’, which was published in the 1950s and is a fragment of an unpublished sequel to The Adventurous Summer.

(added to website 27 March 2021)

Author Mabel Esther Allan
Publisher Girls Gone By Publishers
Type Paperback
Condition New
Book tags